Three First-Time Nominees for 37th Auto Racing Promoter of the Year

Readers of Racing Promotion Monthly this year selected three first-time and three repeat nominees as Regional Auto Racing Promoters of the Year.  The nominees’ experience ranges from three years to over 30 years. Among them are promoters of three paved ovals and four dirt ovals.  One is affiliated with NASCAR for weekly racing, two with ASA, one with ARCA, one with WISSOTA, and one operates independently.

The nominees are: Region One, the Eastern Region, Bruce & Teresa Rogers, Grandview (PA) Speedway; Region Two, the Southeastern Region, Harold Crook, Lonesome Pine (VA) Raceway; Region Three, the Central Region, Ron Drager & Scott Schultz, Flat Rock (MI) and Toledo (OH) Speedways; Region Four, the Northern Region, the Ashland-Bayfield County Racing Association and Kurt Beeksma, ABC (WI) Raceway; Region Five, the Great Plains Region, Dan Robinson, Lucas Oil (MO) Speedway; and the Rocky Mountain West Region, Steve Beitler, Skagit (WA) Speedway.  The Rogers received their fourth nomination, their first coming in 1984 and most recent previous nomination in 2008, Beitler received his third nomination in four years, Drager and Schultz their second, following a previous nomination in 2001. Ashland-Bayfield, Robinson, and Crook are first-time nominees.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach promoters in the latest issue of Racing Promotion Monthly. The Thirty-Seventh Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the Fortieth Annual RPM Speedweek National Workshop at the Plaza Resort & Spa, Daytona Beach, FL, February 18-20, 2013.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editors of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.  The award is for the 23rd year sponsored by Charlotte Motor Speedway which confers upon the Promoter of the Year perks and privileges at the North Carolina Superspeedway.

Bob Sargent, Track Enterprises, Macon (IL), Paducah (KY) Speedways, received the award last year.  Previous winners are: Hugh Deery, 1976/1984; J.C. Agajanian, 1977; D. Anthony Venditti, 1978; Jack Gunn, 1979; George Eisenhart, 1980; Dick O’Brien, 1981; Howard Tiedt, 1982; Don Martin, 1983; Glenn Donnelly, 1985; Cary Agajanian, 1986; Bud Lunsford, 1987; Bob Daniels, 1988; Howard Commander, 1989; Ray Wilkings, 1990; Paul Kuhl, 1991; Robert Lawton; 1992; Earl Baltes, 1993;  Jody Deery, 1994; Andy Vertrees, 1995; Charles Powell, 1996; C-Ray Hall, 1997; Larry Kemp, 1998; Charles Cathell, 1999; Charles Deery, 2000; Ralph Capitani, 2001; Lanny Edwards, 2002; Bob & Nadine Strauss, 2003; Tom Curley, 2004, Steve York, 2005; John Padjen, 2006; Lynn Phillips, 2007; Joe & Walt Doellefeld, 2008; the Nuckles family, Columbus (OH) Motor Speedway, 2009; and the Queensland family, Deer Creek (MN) Speedway, 2010.

Comments are closed.