Issue 49.03, Controlling Labor Costs

Now in subscribers’ e-mail, Racing Promotion Monthly issue 49.03. Complements of K&K Insurance and Hoosier Racing Tire. Feature Story: The Season Ahead: Controlling Labor Costs. IdeaFile, Legalert: Avoiding Conflicting Warning Sign Language. IdeaFile: Cut The Causes of Common Insurance Claims. RPM Calendar: Dates & Places 47th Annual Workshops. Industry’s Best Suppliers: Updated Listing From RPM@Daytona. Download or read online now at Download issue 49.02 here: PDF File. Promoters, track owners, racing officials, tours, series, club officials, if you are not an enrolled RPM reader, subscribe HERE to read online and ensure you receive each new issue of the “The Idea Newsletter for Auto Racing Promoters.”

McKarns Is 43rd ARPY, Prairie Dirt Classic Gets Event Award

Outstanding Annual Event Award recipient, Matt Curl, Fairbury American Legion Speedway; 43rd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year, Gregg McKarns, Madison International (WI) Speedway, with Workshops chairman Stewart Doty.

RPM@Daytona Credential Deadline Extended

The advanced credential deadline for RPM@Daytona has been extended to February 1, 2019. Credentials may be reserved online or via FAX until midnight Friday February 1, 2019.

Book RPM@Daytona Rooms While They Last

The cutoff date for the RPM Workshops special group rate is near. Enjoy the convenience of lodging in the headquarters hotel, the best on America’s most famous beach, and get special Workshops rates. Enjoy a working vacation in sunny Daytona Beach, great speakers and sessions, races at the big track, and area short tracks. Time is short. Book today! Online at or by phone at 386-254-8200 (9-5 weekdays).

Multi-Timers Dominate 43rd ARPY Ballot

Five of six nominees for Racing Promotion Monthly’s Auto Racing Promoter of the Year are repeat nominees. The nominees’ include four who promote dirt tracks, and two who promotes paved tracks. Two are affiliated with NASCAR, one with IMCA, one with DIRTcar, and two that operate with multiple sanctions and series.

The nominees are: Region One, Eastern Region: Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (NY) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region: Bill & Mayes Massey and Doug Stevens, Senoia (GA) Raceway; Region Three, Central Region: Tom Helfrich, Tri-State (IN) Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Gregg McKarns, Madison International (WI) Speedway; Region Five, Great Plains Region: Toby Kruse, Marshalltown (IA) Speedway; Region Six, Southwest and Western Region: Adam Nelson, Meridian (ID) Speedway. The Masseys and Stevens are first-time nominees, Devore, McKarns, and Nelson received second nominations, and Kruse and Helfrich, their third nominations. Helfrich’s renomination comes 20 years after his last previous nomination and Nelson’s after a nine-year hiatus.

Steve Beitler, Skagit (WA) Speedway received the award last year.  Previous winners include: Hugh Deery,J.C. Agajanian, D. Anthony Venditti, Jack Gunn, George Eisenhart, Dick O’Brien, Howard Tiedt, Don Martin, Glenn Donnelly, Cary Agajanian, Bud Lunsford, Bob Daniels, Howard Commander, Ray Wilkings, Paul Kuhl, Robert Lawton; Earl Baltes, Jody Deery, Andy Vertrees, Charles Powell, C-Ray Hall, Larry Kemp, Charles Cathell, Charles Deery, Ralph Capitani, Lanny Edwards, Bob & Nadine Strauss, Tom Curley, Steve York, John Padjen, Lynn Phillips, Joe & Walt Doellefeld, the Nuckles family, the Queensland family, Robert Sargent, Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, Roger Hadan, Gary & Donna Howe, Gray Garrison and the Hawkins Family, and Dan Robinson.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach readers of Racing Promotion Monthly via the U.S. Postal Service. The Forty-third Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 46th Annual RPM@Daytona Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 11, 2019.

RPM@Daytona Credentialing Back Online

After an interruption of several days, online credentialing for the RPM@Daytona Workshop is again live.  We apologize for any inconvenience. Reserve your credentials and enjoy the advance reservation discount.

Best Wishes For The Holidays