RPM@Daytona Credential Deadline Extended

The advanced credential deadline for RPM@Daytona has been extended to February 1, 2019. Credentials may be reserved online or via FAX until midnight Friday February 1, 2019.

Book RPM@Daytona Rooms While They Last

The cutoff date for the RPM Workshops special group rate is near. Enjoy the convenience of lodging in the headquarters hotel, the best on America’s most famous beach, and get special Workshops rates. Enjoy a working vacation in sunny Daytona Beach, great speakers and sessions, races at the big track, and area short tracks. Time is short. Book today! Online at www.hiltondaytona.com or by phone at 386-254-8200 (9-5 weekdays).

Multi-Timers Dominate 43rd ARPY Ballot

Five of six nominees for Racing Promotion Monthly’s Auto Racing Promoter of the Year are repeat nominees. The nominees’ include four who promote dirt tracks, and two who promotes paved tracks. Two are affiliated with NASCAR, one with IMCA, one with DIRTcar, and two that operate with multiple sanctions and series.

The nominees are: Region One, Eastern Region: Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (NY) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region: Bill & Mayes Massey and Doug Stevens, Senoia (GA) Raceway; Region Three, Central Region: Tom Helfrich, Tri-State (IN) Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Gregg McKarns, Madison International (WI) Speedway; Region Five, Great Plains Region: Toby Kruse, Marshalltown (IA) Speedway; Region Six, Southwest and Western Region: Adam Nelson, Meridian (ID) Speedway. The Masseys and Stevens are first-time nominees, Devore, McKarns, and Nelson received second nominations, and Kruse and Helfrich, their third nominations. Helfrich’s renomination comes 20 years after his last previous nomination and Nelson’s after a nine-year hiatus.

Steve Beitler, Skagit (WA) Speedway received the award last year.  Previous winners include: Hugh Deery,J.C. Agajanian, D. Anthony Venditti, Jack Gunn, George Eisenhart, Dick O’Brien, Howard Tiedt, Don Martin, Glenn Donnelly, Cary Agajanian, Bud Lunsford, Bob Daniels, Howard Commander, Ray Wilkings, Paul Kuhl, Robert Lawton; Earl Baltes, Jody Deery, Andy Vertrees, Charles Powell, C-Ray Hall, Larry Kemp, Charles Cathell, Charles Deery, Ralph Capitani, Lanny Edwards, Bob & Nadine Strauss, Tom Curley, Steve York, John Padjen, Lynn Phillips, Joe & Walt Doellefeld, the Nuckles family, the Queensland family, Robert Sargent, Ron Drager and Scott Schultz, Roger Hadan, Gary & Donna Howe, Gray Garrison and the Hawkins Family, and Dan Robinson.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year ballot will soon reach readers of Racing Promotion Monthly via the U.S. Postal Service. The Forty-third Auto Racing Promoter of the Year will be revealed during the 46th Annual RPM@Daytona Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, Daytona Beach, FL, February 11, 2019.

RPM@Daytona Credentialing Back Online

After an interruption of several days, online credentialing for the RPM@Daytona Workshop is again live.  We apologize for any inconvenience. Reserve your credentials and enjoy the advance reservation discount.

Best Wishes For The Holidays

RPM@Reno, RPM@Indy, A Wrap, Daytona Next

Looking forward to the 2019 Season, promoters from the Pacific Coast and inter-mountain region, gathered at the RPM@Reno Promoters Workshop; and promoters from the Midwest, East, and Southeast, at Indianapolis Motor Speedway for RPM@Indy. The four days of talks, discussions, and networking, were produced by Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, and sponsored by K&K Insurance Group and Hoosier Racing Tire.

Presenters included 42nd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Steve Beitler, owner or operator of three Washington dirt tracks and two series, Kendra Jacobs, Marketing Director for Knoxville Raceway, Toby Kruse, Darren Shanley, and Chet Christner principals in SpeedShift TV, and marketing consultant and promoter Mike Lysakowski. At Reno, attorneys Paul Tetreault and Don Ornelas of the Agajanian Law Firm, brought promoters up-to-date on 2018 court decisions affecting motorsports promotion. Ten additional sessions discussed emergency incident preparedness, dirt & paved track management, employee relations and policies, social media trends, and practices, trends in events and scheduling, and facility amenities, and the latest information on Chevrolet Performance sealed spec engines.

The Workshops Series continues February 10-12, with the 46th annual RPM@Daytona Workshop at the Hilton Daytona Beach. The Daytona Beach Workshop offers the same agenda as the RPM@Reno. A full lineup of sessions can be found in the latest issues of Racing Promotion Monthly, available at RacingPromotionMonthly.com

Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, is published year-round with the support of K&K Insurance Group, Inc., Hoosier Racing Tire. The 45th Workshops Series is produced with additional support from: Chevrolet Performance, Moffett Productions, Simes Graphic Designs, Raceceiver, Lucas Oil Products, Firethorn Marketing, IMCA, and Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

More information is available from RPM at 920-367-0540, or on the World Wide Web at www.racingpromotionmonthly.com.

RPM 48.10 Reno ‘Round The Corner, Talking About Things We Shouldn’t Talk About

Now in subscribers’ e-mail, Racing Promotion Monthly issue 48.10. SPECIAL ISSUE: compliments of K&K Insurance Group and Hoosier Racing Tire, FEATURE STORY: The State Of The Industry: Talking About Things We Shouldn’t Talk About; IDEAFILE: Legalert: Spectacular Drags; SESSION LINEUPS: RPM@Reno, RPM@Indy, Featured speakers include nationally recognized promoters, marketers, PR and legal experts, and ten topical short-track race organizing and promotional round-table sessions. RENO HOTEL: 46th Workshops Lodging Rates; Download or read online now at www.racingpromotionmonthly.com. Download issue 48.10 here: PDF File. Promoters, track owners, racing officials, tours, series, club officials, if you are not an enrolled RPM reader, subscribe HERE to read online and ensure you receive each new issue of the “The Idea Newsletter for Auto Racing Promoters.”