Beitler Is 42nd ARPY, Ice Bowl Gets Event Award

Steve Beitler, promoter of Skagit Speedway, and Grays Harbor Raceway (WA), the Summer Thunder Sprint Tour and Washington Modified Tour, was revealed today as recipient of the 42nd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Award, sponsored by Racing Promotion Monthly and Charlotte Motor Speedway, in ceremonies at the Hilton Daytona Beach, Daytona Beach, FL. Readers of Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, chose Beitler from among six regional nominees. Honored as Regional Auto Racing Promoters of the Year were Beitler, Region One, Eastern Region: Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (NY) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region: Paul Purvis, Swainsboro (GA) Speedway; Region Three, Central Region: Ron Flinn, Crystal (MI) Speedway; Region Four, Northern Region: Gregg McKarns, Madison International (WI) Speedway; and Region Five, Great Plains Region: John McCoy, Knoxville (IA) Raceway. Devore, Purvis, Flinn, McKarns, and McCoy received first-time nominations, and Beitler his fourth nomination. Talladega Short Track’s annual January Ice Bowl, the first race of the new year in the southern United States, which this season celebrated 27 years, received the Racing Promotion Monthly Award for Outstanding Annual Short Track Event.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions. The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.  The award is for the 29th year sponsored by Charlotte Motor Speedway.

42nd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Steve Beitler, Skagit (WA) Speedway, with award presenter Jody Deery, Rockford Speedway.

Comments are closed.